Search found 13055 matches

by Clint
Mon Mar 27, 2017 8:04 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
Topic: Puppet power follow on questions
Replies: 1
Views: 52

Re: Puppet power follow on questions

So I have read the questions already asked in the forum and not found this one specifically answered. I cast puppet on an already puppetted target to attempt to wrest control from the original caster. Does the opposed roll use the targets spirit or the original casters? The latter seems more in spi...
by Clint
Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:54 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
Topic: Making/Buying Armor for Large PCs & NPCs
Replies: 1
Views: 70

Re: Making/Buying Armor for Large PCs & NPCs

How do the rules work for making/buying armor for plus-sized NPCs/PCs? An Ogre, for example, is Size +3. Not quite large enough for to-hit bonuses/penalties, but still clearly much taller than average PCs. It's extremely unlikely that a typical set of armor is going to fit one. And typical armor ce...
by Clint
Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:38 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
Topic: gritty damage and multiple injuries
Replies: 1
Views: 91

Re: gritty damage and multiple injuries

By the regular rule, when a wild card get incapacitated he/she has to make a vigor roll immediately and check the injury table if needed. What happen in the same scenario using Gritty Damage? How many vigor rolls are required. For example, the wild card has 2 wounds, get a new bullet and get incapa...
by Clint
Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:39 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
Topic: [SFC] Parasteen/Deaders and Parry
Replies: 1
Views: 79

Re: [SFC] Parasteen/Deaders and Parry

I'm playing a Parasteen/Deader with 0 fighting capability. As per the Deader Hindrance, he has Poor Parry , giving him a -2 to Parry. Does this mean his Parry is 0? Yep. The character is literally easier to hit than an inanimate object, walking into close combat attacks. If so, does this mean any a...
by Clint
Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:30 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
Topic: [SPC2] Decay and Armor power
Replies: 1
Views: 66

Re: [SPC2] Decay and Armor power

I come seeking wisdom. If someone with the Decay power hits a wildcard hero who is wearing a combat suit (with the Armor power at two or more), if the player fails their vigor roll, will the Armor power absorb the wound in the same manor as mundane armor/thick clothing? If so, and the Armor power i...
by Clint
Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:15 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
Topic: Super Powers Companion: Copy Cat and Unknown powers
Replies: 1
Views: 99

Re: Super Powers Companion: Copy Cat and Unknown powers

If I have a super powered character (Character A) with the Copy Cat power and the Versatile modifier (lets say +1 Versatile in this instance) and they touch a character they know to be a super (Character B), but do not have any prior knowledge about that Character B's powers, does Copy Cat work? Mo...
by Clint
Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:16 pm
Forum: SW Pinnacle Original Settings & Companions
Topic: Rippers Resurrected Status
Replies: 1
Views: 140

Re: Rippers Resurrected Status

I'm reading through the rules for Status, Favors, and Scandals in Rippers Resurrected. The monthly salary, Favor cost table, and gaining favors all makes sense, but I don't see any mention of how a player can change change their Status other than taking Rich Edge, Filthy Rich Edge, or Poverty Hindr...
by Clint
Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:02 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
Topic: [SFC} - Cost of Power Points Racial Ability
Replies: 1
Views: 54

Re: [SFC} - Cost of Power Points Racial Ability

I was wondering if the cost of the Power Points Racial Ability also has a mistake not included in the errata. The SFC lists +5 PP for 1 ability point. But that is the same effect as the Power Points Edge and Edges normally cost 2 ability points. The Edge isn't limited to one specific Arcane Backgro...
by Clint
Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:59 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
Topic: [50F] Elemental Invulnerability
Replies: 1
Views: 71

Re: [50F] Elemental Invulnerability

arnon wrote:Some of the Elementals in 50 Fathoms have are "immune to all non-magical atacks"

Does this mean only Arcane Powers may damage them? or, can a magical weapon deal damage to them as well?


An attack with a magical weapon does fall under a magical attack.
by Clint
Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:54 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
Topic: [RR] Weired Science & Resistance to Magic
Replies: 1
Views: 73

Re: [RR] Weired Science & Resistance to Magic

Does a weird science power harm monsters that can be damaged by magic, like the Shadow Hound? (Ethereal: Only magical attacks can affect shadow creatures). Rippers defaults to the core Weird Science rules, and as noted there, Weird Science "differs from regular science in that some element of ...
by Clint
Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:29 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
Topic: Range of Detect/Conceal Arcana and Intangibility
Replies: 1
Views: 123

Re: Range of Detect/Conceal Arcana and Intangibility

Detect/Conceal Arcana has a listed range of Sight. For Detect Arcana, that clearly means the detection range is line of sight, but I'm not clear if it also applies to casting the spell on others. Can it be bestowed at a distance, or is it self-only? Similarly for Conceal Arcana, can it conceal any ...
by Clint
Sat Mar 18, 2017 1:18 pm
Forum: SW Pinnacle Licensed Settings
Topic: [SR] Burster trappings
Replies: 5
Views: 198

Re: [SR] Burster trappings

1) would a busters fire aura be normally be affected by a busters fire mastery as if it were considered a minor fire effect. Like as an action a player could activate his fire aura, and then as a free action, modify his aura using fire mastery so that one of his arms was not covered by the aura. Th...
by Clint
Sat Mar 18, 2017 1:01 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
Topic: Consequence of Damage During Chase
Replies: 1
Views: 101

Re: Consequence of Damage During Chase

How do you tackle vehicle damage in the context of a SWD Chase? We've just run a car chase. In one round, the passenger managed to land a solid shot on the car that was chasing them, rolling 20 damage against a Toughness 15 vehicle. The only vehicle damage rules I could find are those for Vehicles ...
by Clint
Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:53 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
Topic: Can Burrow be used on opponents? (And to what extent?)
Replies: 1
Views: 126

Re: Can Burrow be used on opponents? (And to what extent?)

So under the description of Burrow it says: "The power may affect an additional target for every additional PP spent, up to a maximum of five targets" Can those targets be enemies? Theoretically, but the target would have full control over the use of the power not the caster, so they coul...
by Clint
Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:19 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
Topic: [ETU] Spirit Shield
Replies: 1
Views: 49

Re: [ETU] Spirit Shield

I searched the ETU and the Degrees of Horror PDF's and the forums. I found Spirit Shield for Deadlands Noir, but I cannot find it for ETU. GlenMac has the spell, but I cannot find reference for it. can you tell me what it does? or where I should be able to find it? Check the last paragraph under th...
by Clint
Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:14 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
Topic: [SR] TW Weapons and Mega Damage
Replies: 1
Views: 150

Re: [SR] TW Weapons and Mega Damage

Kaandorian wrote:TPLG states about TW weapons "Wielders can expend 2 Power Points as a free action to cause Mega Damage for three rounds." This refers to the TW weapons present in the table.
Is this a rule for every TW weapon, or just an exclusive feature of those weapons?


It applies to any TW weapon.
by Clint
Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:40 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
Topic: [50F] Top Speed and Contact
Replies: 1
Views: 80

Re: [50F] Top Speed and Contact

Does a higher top speed give the same bonuses in chasing a ship as it does in the actual battle (using the chase rules)? If the intent is whether it applies when trying to catch a ship as noted under Contact, then nope, it doesn't apply. The ranges are so great at that point and the differences in ...
by Clint
Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:36 pm
Forum: Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
Topic: [DLR]Spirits in the physical world
Replies: 1
Views: 83

Re: [DLR]Spirits in the physical world

If a spirit is summoned into the physical world using Contact Spirit World, can it physically interact with the world? Is it ethereal? Something else? It has the same stats it has in the Hunting Grounds (just like a person traveling from here to there). Also, is it about to travel freely between th...
by Clint
Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:51 pm
Forum: Hey Pinnacle!
Topic: Clint ok?
Replies: 2
Views: 150

Re: Clint ok?

I'm fine! As announced on the PEG Tuesday update, Jodi and I were at PAX East this past weekend. The weather caused a delay in our return home, but all is well now.

I'll be playing catch up for a bit so give me some time.

Thanks for the concern! Hate you worried but awesome to be thought of. :D
by Clint
Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:43 pm
Forum: Deadlands: The Weird West
Topic: Awarding bounty points(Classic)
Replies: 2
Views: 155

Re: Awarding bounty points(Classic)

Newbie GM, Hope this is the right spot... Deadlands Classic, starting the game with chip pot of 50 White, 25 red, 10 Blue. Players and GM draw. Does the remainder of the pot serve as the base for Bounty Point awards, or should I start with an empty pot and add chips for story awards, roleplaying, e...

Go to advanced search