Gizmo cost

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Kaandorian
Novice
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:25 pm

Gizmo cost

#1 Postby Kaandorian » Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:04 pm

I have a question regarding gizmos created with Weird Science: (quoting from SW handbook) "a “vibroknife” (a knife with the smite power)".
Does my pc have to buy (or otherwise find) that knife in order to create the gizmo, or is it "for free", included in the investment for this Edge?
And then what about a "vibroKatana"? When (not "if" :D ) it explodes, it becomes truly expensive to buy a new one... admitted it's available to buy... a Katana may not be available in many situations.
Otherwise, if it comes for free, a starting character can have the best melee weapon right from the start even if he is a Poor character.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20235
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Gizmo cost

#2 Postby Clint » Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:58 am

Kaandorian wrote:I have a question regarding gizmos created with Weird Science: (quoting from SW handbook) "a “vibroknife” (a knife with the smite power)".
Does my pc have to buy (or otherwise find) that knife in order to create the gizmo, or is it "for free", included in the investment for this Edge?
And then what about a "vibroKatana"? When (not "if" :D ) it explodes, it becomes truly expensive to buy a new one... admitted it's available to buy... a Katana may not be available in many situations.
Otherwise, if it comes for free, a starting character can have the best melee weapon right from the start even if he is a Poor character.


Nothing is free in this world. ;)

Meaning, yep, there is some cost, but the exact "cost" could vary depending on trappings to a certain extent.

For example, it could be as simple as if a player wants to have a knife be part of their power, then they have to pay for a knife to use it in. Same thing for a vibro-katana.

That said, nothing says if that gizmo needs to be rebuilt, it has to be rebuilt in the same base weapon since the character is paying for the weapon separately. Maybe the character starts with a vibro-knife and when it comes time to rebuild has the funds to get a katana, or perhaps they start with the katana (and likely the Rich Edge) but when they need to rebuild, the only weapon available is a knife.

On the hand, a player may say the power only ever works as part of a katana, it's inherent in the construction. That in and of itself could be a drawback on the power since in some settings, there are a lot of places where they don't allow someone to walk in carrying a katana and (despite what the Highlander would have you think) it's pretty darn hard to conceal one for any length of time. So the GM might rule that trapping would allow for a "free" katana as long as the player understands they'd be giving up access to one of their powers in a variety of situations.

Regardless of the specific trapping though, it wouldn't be "free."

Hope that helps.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest