Habit - Fatigue clarification

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Lord Lance
Heroic
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 6:00 am
Location: Vicenza, Italy

Habit - Fatigue clarification

#1 Postby Lord Lance » Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:40 am

Hi Clint. I searched for this kind of clarification, but had no luck.
There are a lot of Hindrances and various effects that work with Fatigue. For example, Habit (major). It says "The first failed roll makes the character Fatigued, then Exhausted." Is this different (and intended) from saying a think like "every time the roll is failed, the character gains 1 Fatigue level"?
In other words, if my character had bump&bruises as result from a bad slipping, so it's already fatigued, AND he now fails the Habit roll, does he become exhausted? Or does he stays fatigued, 'cause the quirks says specifically that the first fail make him fatigued, and the second one exhausted?
Thanks in advance.
"Balance is the key, Trapping is the word." - - Lord Lance

Proud creator of the SAVAGE FREE BESTIARY

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20285
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Habit - Fatigue clarification

#2 Postby Clint » Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:16 am

Lord Lance wrote:Hi Clint. I searched for this kind of clarification, but had no luck.
There are a lot of Hindrances and various effects that work with Fatigue. For example, Habit (major). It says "The first failed roll makes the character Fatigued, then Exhausted." Is this different (and intended) from saying a think like "every time the roll is failed, the character gains 1 Fatigue level"?
In other words, if my character had bump&bruises as result from a bad slipping, so it's already fatigued, AND he now fails the Habit roll, does he become exhausted? Or does he stays fatigued, 'cause the quirks says specifically that the first fail make him fatigued, and the second one exhausted?


Specifically, per that sentence and the ones before and after it, "A character who doesn’t get his fix must make a Fatigue check every 24 hours thereafter (see Fatigue on page 99). The first failed roll makes the character Fatigued, then Exhausted. The final result is a coma for hard drug use, or a bad case of the shakes for things like alcohol or VR."

The basic rule is that the character must make a Fatigue check per the Fatigue rules (on page 99 of SWD Ex). The second sentence just notes the typical effect of failure to become Fatigued then Exhausted, before leading into the result for exceeding Exhausted. Those descriptions don't change the preceding rule on how it actually works.

So the Fatigue rules on Multiple Hazards apply, "It doesn’t matter what the source of Fatigue is. If a hero who’s already Exhausted from hunger then suffers a level of Fatigue from cold, he becomes Incapacitated. A character suffering from multiple sources of Fatigue must address both to recover."

Meaning, yep, if the character is Fatigued from any other source and suffers another from their Habit, they would be Exhausted.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests