Grappling your Grappler

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Vermillion_Quaver
Novice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:55 pm

Grappling your Grappler

#1 Postby Vermillion_Quaver » Mon Jan 02, 2017 7:18 pm

If you're being grappled and you opt to grapple your opponent in return so that you can do damage, do you still suffer the -4 penalty for taking a different action than trying to break free?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20327
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Grappling your Grappler

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Jan 03, 2017 12:12 pm

Vermillion_Quaver wrote:If you're being grappled and you opt to grapple your opponent in return so that you can do damage, do you still suffer the -4 penalty for taking a different action than trying to break free?


It's a different action than trying to break free, so yep.

That said, the GM can always apply situational modifiers based on specific cases. For example, grappling a character from the back would likely impose the full -4 penalty to attempt to counter-grapple, where a grapple from the front might reduce the penalty if it makes the grappler easier to grasp in return.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kurseteller and 1 guest