[SR] Psionics = Magic?

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Freemage
Veteran
Posts: 775
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 10:18 pm

[SR] Psionics = Magic?

#1 Postby Freemage » Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:23 am

Another thread that probably should've been in here to begin with:

If a foe takes half-damage from non-magical attacks, does it take full or half-damage from psionic attacks?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20235
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: [SR] Psionics = Magic?

#2 Postby Clint » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:53 pm

Freemage wrote:If a foe takes half-damage from non-magical attacks, does it take full or half-damage from psionic attacks?


Unless some other effect was in play, he would take half damage. If it applied to both, it would be more like "non-magical/psionics" as there is a specific differentiation between the two in the setting. Anything using PPE is "magic," and anything using ISP is "psionics."

Note however, that TW weapons allow for a bit of a work-around. Regardless of the power input to charge them, the output is definitely magical since it originate from the Techno-Wizard's abilities. It's even specifically mentioned for melee weapons under the Techno-Wizard Device Conversion where it says, "when charged, they count as magical against creatures vulnerable to such."

Hope that helps.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests